Christian A. Schwaner, P.C. Blog

Answers to the Most Pressing Colorado DUI Questions

Am I going to go to Jail for my DUI? What do I do when stopped for a DUI? Am I going to lose my license? Will I lose my license for my first offense? Answer: It is a definite possibility. It is important to immediately contact me after you receive your first DUI offense

Read More »

Understanding the Penalties for Domestic Violence in Colorado

Domestic violence is a serious problem throughout the United States, and no less so in Colorado. As such, many Colorado laws have been created in an attempt to prevent incidents of domestic violence by imposing varying levels of punishment depending on the nature of the incident. Less publicized, however, are the wide-reaching effects a domestic violence

Read More »

The Colorado DUI Timeline

The Process Following a DUI Arrest in Colorado Complaint and Summons In the beginning stages of your case, you will receive a complaint, which is simply a description of the charges against you. Next, you will receive a summons which compels you to appear in court regarding the complaint. If you hire me, I will

Read More »

Domestic Violence Laws and Consequnces in Colorado

Acts That Can Result in Domestic Violence Charges in Colorado Many people mistakenly believe that domestic violence charges can be filed only if someone was physically violent to an intimate partner. In Colorado, domestic violence charges may be filed against anyone who: acts in a physically violent manner toward someone with whom he or she

Read More »

The Penalties for DUI in Colorado

A High-Level Look at Colorado DUI Penalties A first-time DUI arrest in Colorado carries potentially serious penalties, including: 12 points against your license Up to one year in jail License suspension (9 months) Monetary fines ($600 to 1,000) Community service (48 to 96 hours) If your blood alcohol content registered above .08, you will have

Read More »

Colorado DUI Laws for Out of State Motorists

Colorado has two levels of alcohol-related driving offenses, and both are based on the measurement of blood alcohol concentration (BAC) in the body. These two levels are Driving Under the Influence (DUI) and Driving While Ability Impaired (DWAI). For many out of state guests who drive through and around Colorado every year, the latter is

Read More »

Underage DUI Laws in Colorado

If you or a loved one is facing an underage driving under the influence charge, your first call needs to be to an experienced defense attorney. Underage drinking and driving cases involve very special circumstances that a DUI defense lawyer can handle quickly and accurately. First, the maximum blood alcohol levels are far lower for

Read More »

What Happens After Multiple DUI Offenses in Colorado?

If you are facing a second or third DUI offense in Colorado, hiring an attorney is essential to resolving your case in a positive manner. You simply can’t do it on your own. The penalties for repeat DUI violations can be quite severe, and you want an experienced defense attorney in your corner that can

Read More »

What are the penalties for marijuana DUI in Colorado?

The penalties for marijuana DUI in Colorado are the same as for a regular DUI; Drug and Alcohol Evaluation and follow the recommendations, community service, 12 points against your license and the possibility of up to a year in jail. Marijuana use is on the rise, and Colorado is cracking down on those driving under

Read More »

If officer smells marijuana, is he allowed to search my car?

If an officer merely smells marijuana, he is not allowed to search your car based solely on that fact. In Colorado, odor alone does not give an officer probable cause to search your vehicle for contraband, or act as evidence that you might be driving under the influence. This is particularly true because possession of

Read More »