Colorado Springs DUI Attorney
Watch the video below to hear from real Colorado Springs residents, like you, who have hired Christian to defend them.
Christian Schwaner - A Former Prosecutor Who Knows The System
Colorado’s intoxicated driving laws are among the nation’s strictest, both in terms of penalties and in terms of the maximum amount of alcohol that can legally be in your system while driving. If you have been charged with a DUI, DWAI, or DUID, it is best to team up with a DUI lawyer who knows the system very well and can save your reputation and freedom.
I’m a Colorado Springs DUI lawyer with the experience to defend you against the following intoxication related charges:
- DUI (Driving Under the Influence)
- DWAI (Driving While Ability Impaired)
- Underage (“Zero Tolerance”) DUI
- Military Personnel DUI
- Commercial Drivers License (CDL) DUI
- Driving Under the Influence of Drugs (DUID)
- Enhanced Penalties
To get started please fill out the contact form or call me at (719) 577-9700
What My Clients Say
– James & Kelli
– Gary T.
Common Defenses For DUI Charges in Colorado Springs
Frequently Asked Questions
If you provided a breath test, or if you refused chemical testing, it is likely the officer who arrested you gave you a Notice of Express Consent Affidavit and a Notice of Revocation. You have seven days from the date of your arrest to go to a Colorado DMV office to request a hearing. If you do not do so, your driver’s license will be revoked on the eighth day after your arrest.
A conviction on the charges in your DUI case can result in fines, jail time, driver’s license suspension, probation, installation of an Ignition Interlock Device (IID) on your car, community service, alcohol education classes, and impoundment of your vehicle.
To be arrested for DUI in Colorado, the law states your BAC must generally equal or exceed 0.08 percent. Unlike most states, Colorado law allows drivers whose BAC is less than 0.08 percent to be charged with Driving While Ability Impaired (DWAI).
In Colorado, driving under the influence of marijuana is prosecuted as a separate offense called “Driving Under the Influence of Drugs” (DUID). The maximum legal amount of THC in a driver’s blood steam is 5 ng/ml. Even when a blood test indicates that a driver‘s bloodstream holds more than the maximum legal amount of THC (5 ng/ml), Colorado law permits that a criminal defense lawyer is permitted to argue, based on the circumstances, that the defendant was not impaired despite the presence of 5ng/ml of THC in his bloodstream.
Call a Former Prosecutor who Knows the System
As a Colorado Springs DUI Attorney, I approach each client’s case by providing a high level of personal attention, no matter how large or small your legal matter. I am a solo lawyer, which means that your representation will never be handed off to a less experienced associate attorney. You will always speak directly to me about your legal needs. I will personally provide your representation and answer your questions.
Contact Me Today
Located in El Paso County, my downtown Colorado Springs law office is easily accessible from I-25 via the East Cimarron Street exit. My office hours are Monday through Friday, 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. In addition, I offer my clients free initial consultations that can be conducted at a police station or jail, if necessary, credit card payment options, and a convenient law office location, one block south of the El Paso County Courthouse. If you reach me from a jail or police station, and arrange to meet with you there.
Call our Colorado Springs criminal & DUI defense law firm today or fill out the contact form to get in touch with attorney Christian Schwaner.