FREE CONSULTATION

Christian A. Schwaner, P.C. Blog

What Happens at the DMV Hearing for DUI in Colorado?

If you are requesting a DMV hearing because of a DUI, you should hire a DUI attorney to assist you. Attending a hearing is just like going to a regular court for a resolution to a case. The DMV hearing is the only chance that you and your lawyer will have to show evidence that

Read More »

How to Obtain a Probationary License After DUI in Colorado

License suspension is probably the most inconvenient penalty associated with a DUI conviction. If you have been convicted of drunk driving in Colorado, your license will be suspended for nine months. However, there are options available to lessen the impact a license revocation has on your life. If you meet certain qualifications, you may qualify

Read More »

Testing for Intoxication During Colorado DUI Arrests

If an alcohol breath test or blood test was used to charge you with a DUI (driving under the influence) or a DWAI (driving while ability impaired), you might assume that a conviction is unavoidable. But that’s not always the case. There are a number of reasons why your alcohol test may be invalid. Perhaps

Read More »

Understanding Sobriety Checkpoints in Colorado

Colorado sobriety checkpoints are a way for law enforcement officers to check many individuals at one time for intoxicated drivers. During the stop, officers look for visible signs that a driver may have been drinking. These signs include slurred words or a smell of alcohol. Officers must ask you for your permission if they decide

Read More »

What Happens When a Colorado DUI Causes Injuries?

If you get into an accident while driving under the influence, you need a knowledgeable DUI attorney in Colorado Springs, CO. Under Colorado DUI laws, if a driver commits a traffic offense that results in injury to another person while they are under the influence of alcohol or drugs, the penalties can be extremely severe.

Read More »

Understanding License Suspensions in Colorado DUI Cases

A very common consequence that comes with driving under the influence in Colorado is having your driver’s license revoked. In Colorado the legal limit for blood alcohol content is 0.02% for persons under the age of 21 and 0.08% for those 21 and older. If someone is pulled over and their blood alcohol content is

Read More »

Consequences for Violating Probation for DUI in Colorado

Once you have been offered probation for your drunk driving offense, you still may need the services of a DUI attorney in Colorado. Many people find that they end up back in court to deal with DUI probation violation issues, and an experienced attorney can be instrumental in making sure that all of the facts are

Read More »

Mandatory Jail for Second DUI Offense

Per Colorado State Law, any person who is convicted of a second DUI offense is required to serve jail time. There is a minimum of 10 days required, but a judge may give the offender up to a year of jail time. Many Colorado judges do give sentences that are longer than 10 days. It

Read More »