FREE CONSULTATION

Christian A. Schwaner, P.C. Blog

Six Things to Know About Colorado’s New DUI Felony Law

Colorado’s Governor, John Hickenlooper, has signed a new document for legislation that offers harsher punishments for repeat DUI offenders. It will now be a felony to be a repeat offender; up until now, Colorado was one of the few states that did not have a standard felony charge for DUI offenses. In fact, there were

Read More »

Errors That Can Get Your DUI Case Dismissed

To err is human – and police and prosecutors are not immune from that fact. If you have been arrested or are being charged with a DUI, certain errors could result in your DUI case being dismissed. It is important to separate the facts from the myths in these types of situations. There are plenty

Read More »

The Three Most Common Defenses to a DUI Charge

Many people believe that there is nothing a person can do to defend a DUI charge in Colorado. However, this is far from the truth. In fact, there are a number of defenses that, when supported by evidence, can lead to your case’s dismissal or acquittal, or a favorable plea bargain. Here is a list

Read More »

Three Ways a Sober Driver Can Fail a Field Sobriety Test

Police often rely on a driver’s performance on a field sobriety tests to prove that he or she was driving under the influence. However, field sobriety tests are less than perfect, and sometimes completely sober drivers fail these tests. Here, we discuss three ways this can happen: 1. The Test is Administered Improperly Colorado has

Read More »

Answers to the Most Pressing Colorado DUI Questions

Am I going to go to Jail for my DUI? What do I do when stopped for a DUI? Am I going to lose my license? Will I lose my license for my first offense? Answer: It is a definite possibility. It is important to immediately contact me after you receive your first DUI offense

Read More »

The Colorado DUI Timeline

The Process Following a DUI Arrest in Colorado Complaint and Summons In the beginning stages of your case, you will receive a complaint, which is simply a description of the charges against you. Next, you will receive a summons which compels you to appear in court regarding the complaint. If you hire me, I will

Read More »

The Penalties for DUI in Colorado

A High-Level Look at Colorado DUI Penalties A first-time DUI arrest in Colorado carries potentially serious penalties, including: 12 points against your license Up to one year in jail License suspension (9 months) Monetary fines ($600 to 1,000) Community service (48 to 96 hours) If your blood alcohol content registered above .08, you will have

Read More »

Colorado DUI Laws for Out of State Motorists

Colorado has two levels of alcohol-related driving offenses, and both are based on the measurement of blood alcohol concentration (BAC) in the body. These two levels are Driving Under the Influence (DUI) and Driving While Ability Impaired (DWAI). For many out of state guests who drive through and around Colorado every year, the latter is

Read More »

Underage DUI Laws in Colorado

If you or a loved one is facing an underage driving under the influence charge, your first call needs to be to an experienced defense attorney. Underage drinking and driving cases involve very special circumstances that a DUI defense lawyer can handle quickly and accurately. First, the maximum blood alcohol levels are far lower for

Read More »

What Happens After Multiple DUI Offenses in Colorado?

If you are facing a second or third DUI offense in Colorado, hiring an attorney is essential to resolving your case in a positive manner. You simply can’t do it on your own. The penalties for repeat DUI violations can be quite severe, and you want an experienced defense attorney in your corner that can

Read More »