Colorado uses Drug Recognition Experts (DRE) to evaluate suspects of driving under the influence of marijuana. They use a 12 step system to evaluate whether someone is operating their vehicle under the influence of marijuana. If you are pulled over for suspected drugged driving, an officer will test sobriety differently than a suspected drunk driver.
Christian A. Schwaner, P.C. Blog
There are many signs that indicate to a police officer that a driver has been smoking marijuana. The primary signs are: Odor Marijuana puts off an strong and easily detectable odor. The more recent the marijuana use the stronger the odor. A key to keep police off your back is to make sure that you
If you get into an accident while driving under the influence, you need a knowledgeable DUI attorney in Colorado Springs, CO. Under Colorado DUI laws, if a driver commits a traffic offense that results in injury to another person while they are under the influence of alcohol or drugs, the penalties can be extremely severe.
A very common consequence that comes with driving under the influence in Colorado is having your driver’s license revoked. In Colorado the legal limit for blood alcohol content is 0.02% for persons under the age of 21 and 0.08% for those 21 and older. If someone is pulled over and their blood alcohol content is
This is an easy answer: The police absolutely check for marijuana at DUI checkpoints. Even though Colorado now has laws that allow for recreational use of marijuana, there are other laws that say how much a person can have, how it should be transported, and even where it can be consumed. Tripping up on any
Once you have been offered probation for your drunk driving offense, you still may need the services of a DUI attorney in Colorado. Many people find that they end up back in court to deal with DUI probation violation issues, and an experienced attorney can be instrumental in making sure that all of the facts are
According to current DUI laws in Colorado, a person is guilty of a DUI if he or she operates a motor vehicle while under the influence of alcohol and/or one or more drugs, OR he or she operates a motor vehicle as a habitual user of any controlled substance. As stated above, with regard to
November, 2000 – Colorado voters consider and pass Amendment 20 to the state’s constitution, which legalized limited amounts of medical marijuana for registered patients and their primary caregivers. October, 2009 – Deputy Attorney General David Ogden of the United States Attorney’s Office issues a memorandum stating that Department of Justice prosecutors “should not focus federal
Most often referred to as “the Lautenberg Amendment,” The Domestic Violence Offender Gun Ban is a 1997 Amendment to the Omnibus Consolidated Appropriations Act of 1997. Regardless of the proper title, this Amendment simply states that firearms are to be banned from use by those who have been convicted of domestic violence. Since 1997, the
Per Colorado State Law, any person who is convicted of a second DUI offense is required to serve jail time. There is a minimum of 10 days required, but a judge may give the offender up to a year of jail time. Many Colorado judges do give sentences that are longer than 10 days. It