A High-Level Look at Colorado DUI Penalties
A first-time DUI arrest in Colorado carries potentially serious penalties, including:
- 12 points against your license
- Up to one year in jail
- License suspension (9 months)
- Monetary fines ($600 to 1,000)
- Community service (48 to 96 hours)
If your blood alcohol content registered above .08, you will have to go through a DMV hearing to determine whether your license will be suspended.
You need to schedule this hearing within 7 days of your drunk driving arrest.
You could potentially lose your license for 9 months. However, you can seek a probationary license 30 days after your license is first suspended if an ignition interlock device is installed in your car. If, for the next four months your BAC level does not register over .017, the ignition interlock device can be removed.
For a free legal consultation, call (719) 440-6720
How a DUI Arrest Affects Your Drivers License
If this is your first offense, you face suspension and points against your license. Further convictions result in driver’s license consequences that are much more severe and that could hamper your ability to drive to work or to school. You may also be required to install equipment in your car before you can reinstate your license after the term of your suspension.
On the lower end of the scale of penalties, your driving privileges could be suspended for 9 months. After the second conviction, your license may be suspended for a year. If you are convicted of drunk driving a third time, your license may be revoked for as long as 2 years.
As points are assessed to your license, your insurance company attaches additional fees to your insurance premium. They may also require you to file special insurance forms in order to maintain your car insurance which would involve additional fees on top of your premiums. In an attempt to avoid these costly consequences from your insurance company, I will likely petition to have your points reduced or eliminated entirely.
Further driver’s license consequences involve the installation of an ignition interlock system before you can reinstate your license. This device is a mobile breathalyzer test which will not allow your vehicle’s engine to start if it detects any alcohol on your breath. In some cases, I may be able to petition that this requirement does not apply to your situation.
Contact me today if you have been arrested for driving under the influence. The initial consultation is free. Let me help you!
Call or text (719) 440-6720 or complete a Free Case Evaluation form