A DUI comes with more than just the risk of jail time or even a license suspension. If you are convicted of a DUI (even as a first-time offender), you will have fines. These fines are not just reserved for court fees, but also include your attorney’s fees, administrative fines, and more. If you have been arrested for a DUI in Colorado, contact a criminal defense attorney as soon as possible. You need an attorney to not only help you avoid the harsh penalties, but possibly save yourself thousands of dollars in fines that you will accrue if you are convicted.
What is Required for a DUI Conviction?
In order to be convicted of driving under the influence (DUI) in the state of Colorado, your blood alcohol content (BAC), must be over 0.08 percent. To be convicted of driving while ability impaired (DWAI), you must have a BAC of 0.05 percent or higher, but less than the DUI limit of 0.08 percent.
For a free legal consultation, call (719) 440-6720
What Are the Fines Associated with a DUI Conviction?
You will face several types of fines if you are convicted of a DUI, which include:
- Criminal Penalty Fines – These are what you will pay to the courts for your DUI conviction. The fines can range from $500 to as much as $1,500, depending on whether you are found guilty of a DUI or DWAI, and how many previous convictions you have on your record.
- Administrative Fines – If your driver’s license is suspended or revoked as part of your penalty, then you will have to pay a fine to the Colorado DMV in order to reinstate your driver’s license. This is in addition to court fines that you will pay.
- IID – If you are convicted, you will be required to install an ignition interlock device (IID) on your vehicle. This will prevent you from driving while under the influence in the future, and is often required even for first-time offenders. This is not a free service provided to you by the court. Instead, you will pay for the initial installation, as well as monthly maintenance. You will be responsible for repairs to the unit, as well.
- Attorneys’ Fees – While this isn’t an official fine, you will still have court costs that include filing fees, attorneys’ fees, and the costs associated with your defense. Depending on the circumstances of your case, this could easily cost several thousand dollars.
- Restitution – If you caused any property damage or injuries because of your DUI or DWAI, you could then also face restitution payments. These are what you will pay directly to the victims for your actions. It could include medical costs, property damage costs, etc.
- Therapy or Treatment Plans – If you are required to take alcohol treatment courses or rehabilitative therapy as part of your probation, you will have to pay for these courses out of your own pocket.
Do Not Face a Lifetime of Fees and Fines – Contact a Colorado DUI Attorney
While you may think that these fees are negligible now, once you add up the real costs of a DUI conviction, you will quickly see how detrimental it can be to your life and financial stability. If you have been arrested for a DUI, it is imperative that you contact a DUI attorney to explore your defense options. Christian A. Schwaner, P.C. can assist you with your DUI or DWAI offense. Contact me today at 719-577-9700, or fill out our online contact form with your DUI questions.
Call or text (719) 440-6720 or complete a Free Case Evaluation form