Experienced Defense Attorney Fighting DUI Charges for Clients in Colorado Springs
Drinking and driving is a serious offense in Colorado.
Even if you are a first-time offender, being arrested and put into the system is a traumatic event. There are numerous steps law enforcement takes you through as part of your DUI arrest. If you have never been arrested or detained by law enforcement, you might be unfamiliar with the process. Therefore, knowing what happens after your arrest better prepares you for the road ahead.
For a free legal consultation, call (719) 440-6720
First, the Arrest
After you have failed the field sobriety test, the officer will arrest you. They may then ask that you submit to a breathalyzer at the precinct (if you did not take one at the scene). Other times, they may request a blood sample.
In most cases, the officer conducts the field sobriety and field breathalyzer to determine if you are over the legal limit (0.08 percent blood alcohol content). Once you fail these tests, you will be arrested immediately and booked under a suspicion of a DUI.
Summons to Appear in Court
Whether you are held over or released, your initial court appearance requires you to hear the charges being brought against you. You will then have the opportunity to plead innocent or guilty.
At this hearing, your bail amount is likely to be determined by the judge. In most cases, you will be allowed to go home on bail. But it is important to realize that bail is your financial promise to appear in court for all subsequent hearings until the resolution of your case.
Click to contact our personal injury lawyers today
Suspension of Your Driver’s License
Next, you will have your driver’s license suspended. All people charged with DUI have their driver’s license suspended. However, you have the right to attend a hearing with the motor vehicle division to request reinstatement of your driver’s license.
You must request a hearing, otherwise the DMV could suspend your driver’s license within seven days of your arrest.
Complete a Free Case Evaluation form now
You Pay the Court Fines and Penalties
Many people assume that a DUI means that they will spend time in jail, but forget about the financial consequences of a conviction. If you are convicted, you face numerous financial penalties for your DUI offense, including court fines. If you caused property damage, you must also pay a fine for the damage caused.
While a first-time offender has a low court fine, you might still face court costs, attorney’s fees, jail fees, and so forth.
You Serve Your Jail Sentence
If you are convicted, you may receive a jail sentence. In Colorado, a first time offense can result in 180 days jail time for a DWAI, and up to one year in jail for a first-time DUI. In most cases, first time offenders receive reduced sentences or probation, but it depends on the circumstances.
You Attend DUI School
You may be required to attend a drinking and driving education course through a state-approved provider. This course is paid out of your own pocket. It is often mandatory; either as part of your sentence or as a requirement to receive your driver’s license back.
Arrested for a DUI? Speak with an Attorney
The process after a DUI arrest moves quickly. You could find yourself serving a jail sentence just a few short weeks after your arrest. To avoid the harsh and long-term penalties of a DUI, contact an attorney who is ready to fight for you.
Christian A. Schwaner, P.C. is here to help you with your case. Schedule a consultation today at 719-577-9700 or request more information online.
Call or text (719) 440-6720 or complete a Free Case Evaluation form